Wednesday, January 12, 2011

National Board of Review Awards 2010 (2011)

Awards for 2010:
Best Film
The Social Network

Top Ten Films
(in alphabetical order) Another YearThe FighterHereafter,InceptionThe King's SpeechShutter IslandThe TownToy Story 3True GritWinter's Bone

Best Foreign Language Film
Of Gods and Men

Top Five Foreign Films
(in alphabetical order) I Am LoveIncendiesLife, Above AllSoul KitchenWhite Material

Best Documentary
Waiting for "Superman"

Top Five Documentaries
(in alphabetical order) A Film UnfinishedInside JobJoan Rivers: A Piece of WorkRestrepoThe Tillman Story

Top Independent Films
(in alphabetical order) Animal KingdomBuriedFish TankThe Ghost WriterGreenbergLet Me InMonstersPlease Give,SomewhereYouth in Revolt

Best Actor
Jesse EisenbergThe Social Network

Best Actress
Lesley ManvilleAnother Year

Best Supporting Actor
Christian BaleThe Fighter

Best Supporting Actress
Jacki WeaverAnimal Kingdom

Best Ensemble Cast
The Town

Breakthrough Performance
Jennifer LawrenceWinter's Bone

Best Director
David FincherThe Social Network

Debut Directors
Sebastian Junger and Tim HetheringtonRestrepo

Best Adapted Screenplay
Aaron SorkinThe Social Network

Spotlight Award
Sylvain Chomet and Jacques TatiThe Illusionist

Best Original Screenplay
Chris SparlingBuried

Best Animated Feature
Toy Story 3

Special Filmmaking Achievement
Sofia Coppola for writing, directing, and producing Somewhere

Production Design Award
Dante FerrettiShutter Island

William K. Everson Award For Film History
Leonard Maltin

Freedom of Expression
Fair GameConvictionHowl

Over 250 films (studio, independent, foreign-language, animated, and documentary) are viewed throughout the year by a select group of knowledgeable film enthusiasts, filmmakers, academics, and students. Frequently, in-depth discussions with filmmakers, directors, actors, producers, or screenwriters follow screenings. At year's end, members receive a list of all films screened, along with final ballots, which are tabulated by a certified public accounting firm in order to determine annual honorees.

No comments: