Translate

Friday, July 26, 2013

There is life, and work, outside Hollywood

From Backstage.com (click here). 
Use the linked city or regional names for additional information.
Additional information added by SAGACTOR-blogspot.



Why cling to the major hubs when there's work to be had from the redwood forest to the Gulf Stream waters?


Sure, actors want to work in L.A. and New York. But other areas across the nation offer vibrant opportunities in film, television, commercials, and theater, for actors willing to step away from the coastal hubs and plant a few roots in homier soils. Back Stage checked out a few regions to see what's available to actors of all stripes.



Chicago 

Detroit has been a hotbed of film and TV production, including the movie "Gran Torino" and the series "Detroit 1-8-7." The boom has been attributed to terrific tax incentives—which may disappear.

Claire Simon, Simon Casting, www.simoncasting.com
David O'Connor, O'Connor Casting Company, www.oconnorcasting.tv

Detroit


Detroit has been a hotbed of film and TV production, including the movie "Gran Torino" and the series "Detroit 1-8-7." The boom has been attributed to terrific tax incentives—which may disappear. 

Dayna Polehanki, Detroit Casting Company, www.detroitcastingcompany.com
Janet Pound, Kathy Mooney, Pound & Mooney Casting, www.poundmooneycasting.com

Pacific Northwest

The region offers a wide variety of shooting locations, and production companies are discovering a wealth of good talent in the area.


Lana Veenker, Lana Veenker Casting, (503) 221-3090, www.slateplease.com,www.castingscoop.blogspot.com
Catrine McGregor Casting, Boise, Idaho, (801) 793-5008, c.mcgregor@mindspring.com,www.myspace.com/mcgregorcasting
Simon Max Hill Casting, Portland, Ore., (503) 317-1309, www.smhcasting.com
Nike Imoru, Casting Director, Spokane, Wash., (509) 252-2574, nikeimoru@hotmail.com
Patti Kalles, Kalles Levine Casting, Seattle, (206) 522-2660, kalleslevine@hotmail.com,www.kalleslevinecasting.com
Stephen Salamunovich, Complete Casting, Seattle, (206) 903-6500, www.completecasting.com


Philadelphia

Philadelphia is more than its cheesesteaks. Recently it has been home to many major studio films, such as "Limitless," "The Lovely Bones," "The Last Airbender," and "Law Abiding Citizen."


Diane Heery, Jason Loftus, Heery Casting, www.heerycasting.com
Susan Gish, Philadelphia Casting, www.philacast.com
Kathy Wickline, Wickline Casting, www.wicklinecasting.com


The Southeast

Opportunities for local actors are growing significantly in Miami and central Florida, Atlanta, New Orleans and Baton Rouge, La., and throughout North Carolina.

Ellen Jacoby, Ellen Jacoby Casting International, Miami Beach, Fla., www.ellenjacobycasting.com
Craig Fincannon, Fincannon & Associates, with offices in Georgia, North Carolina, and Louisiana,www.fincannoncasting.com



Texas is home to studio films, independent films, television series, commercials, industrials, and educational videos.

Diana Guthrie, www.dianaguthrie.com
Shannon Pinkston, Atomic Casting, www.atomic-casting.com


The Southwest

It's easier to get cast in a SAG project in a smaller market like Arizona or New Mexico than in L.A. or New York.
4/21/11 published Backstage

No comments: