Friday, January 10, 2014

DGA Film Award Nominations 2014

Martin Scorsese and Steve McQueen among DGA award nominees

Martin Scorsese
Martin Scorsese earned his ninth nomination for the DGA Award for outstanding directorial achievement in feature film for "The Wolf of Wall Street." (Liz O. Baylen / Los Angeles Times)

    DGA Awards Nominees 5 Split - H 2014
    AP Images
    From left: Cuaron, McQueen, Scorsese, Russell and Greengrass

    The winners will be announced at a Jan. 25 ceremony.

    Three of the DGA's choices -- Gravity's Alfonso Cuaron,Captain PhillipsPaul Greengrass and 12 Years a Slave's Steve McQueen -- are first-time DGA nominees. David O. Russell, who was previously nominated for 2010's The Fighter, was nominated for American Hustle. And Martin Scorsese, a DGA feature award winner for 2006's The Departed, received his 11th DGA nom for his current film, The Wolf of Wall Street.
    The nominees in the TV and commercials categories will be announced Thursday, while the documentary nominees are set to be unveiled Monday.
    The winners will be announced at the 66th annual DGA Awards ceremony, taking place Jan. 25 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. Jane Lynch is set to host.
    As previously announced, Shondaland's Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers will receive the guild's diversity award during the ceremony. Lee Blaine will be presented with the Frank Capra Achievement Award, given to an assistant director or unit production manager in recognition of career achievement in the industry and service to the DGA. Vince DeDario will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award, honoring an associate director or stage manager in recognition of service to the industry and to the guild.
    A complete list of film nominees follows (in alphabetical order):

    (Warner Bros. Pictures)

    Cuarón’s Directorial Team:
    ·         Unit Production Manager: David Siegel (Arizona Unit)
    ·         First Assistant Directors: Josh Robertson, Stephen Hagen (Arizona Unit)
    ·         Second Assistant Director: Ben Howard

    This is Cuarón's first DGA Award nomination.

    Captain Phillips
    (Columbia Pictures)
    Greengrass’ Directorial Team:
    ·         Unit Production Managers: Todd Lewis, Gregory Goodman
    ·         First Assistant Director: Chris Carreras
    ·         Second Assistant Directors: Nick Shuttleworth, Mark S. Constance

    This is Greengrass's first DGA Award nomination.

    12 Years a Slave
    (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
    McQueen’s Directorial Team:
    ·         Unit Production Manager: Anthony Katagas
    ·         First Assistant Director: Doug Torres
    ·         Second Assistant Director: James Roque Jr.
    ·         Second Second Assistant Director: Sherman Shelton Jr.
    ·         Additional Second Assistant Director: Nathan Parker

    This is McQueen's first DGA Award nomination.

    American Hustle
    (Columbia Pictures)

    Russell’s Directorial Team:
    ·         Unit Production Managers: Shea Kammer, Mark Kamine
    ·         First Assistant Director: Michele ‘Shelley’ Ziegler
    ·         Second Assistant Director: Xanthus Valan
    ·         Second Second Assistant Director: Jason Fesel
    ·         Location Managers: David Velasco, Guy Efrat (New York Unit)

    This is Russell's second DGA Award nomination. He was previously nominated in this category for TheFighter in 2010.

    The Wolf of Wall Street
    (Paramount Pictures)

    Scorsese’s Directorial Team:
    ·         Unit Production Manager: Richard Baratta
    ·         First Assistant Director: Adam Somner
    ·         Second Assistant Director: Francisco Oritz
    ·         Second Second Assistant Director: Jeremy Marks
    ·         Additional Second Assistant Director: Scott Koche
    ·         Location Manager: Nils Widboom

    This is Scorsese’s 11th DGA Award nomination. He won the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film in 2006 for The Departed, and has also been nominated in that category for Taxi Driver (1976), Raging Bull (1980), Goodfellas (1990), The Age of Innocence (1993), Gangs of New York (2002), The Aviator (2004) and Hugo (2011). Scorsese also won the DGA Award in 2010 for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Television for Boardwalk Empire and he was nominated for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary for George Harrison: Living in the Material World in 2011. In 1999, Scorsese was presented with the Filmmaker Award at the inaugural DGA Honors Gala, and he was honored with the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003.

    Martin Scorsese earned his ninth Directors Guild of America Award nomination Tuesday morning for outstanding directorial achievement in feature film for  "The Wolf of Wall Street," his controversial dark comedy about a hedonistic stockbroker.
    Scorsese, 71, received his first DGA feature nomination for 1976's "Taxi Driver," and won the honor for his 2006 crime film "The Departed."
    Earning his first nomination Tuesday is Alfonso Cuaron for his lost-in-space blockbuster "Gravity." Cuaron, 52, was named best director by the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. for the thriller and is nominated for a Golden Globe Award.
    British filmmaker Paul Greengrass, 58, also is a first-time nominee for  "Captain Phillips," a fact-based thriller about a container ship hijacked by Somali pirates. Greengrass is also nominated for a Golden Globe for his direction of the film.
    Steve McQueen, the 44-year-old British director, is also another first-time nominee for "12 Years a Slave," an unflinching look at  slavery in the U.S.  McQueen is only the second black director to have received a DGA nomination in this category. Lee Daniels was the first to earn a DGA bid for feature film for 2009's "Precious." McQueen received best director honors from the New York Film Critics Circle and is nominated for Golden Globe and Independent Spirit awards.
    Rounding out the DGA feature nominees is David O. Russell for his Abscam-influenced con-comedy "American Hustle." Russell, 55, was nominated in this category for 2010's "The Fighter." He is also nominated for a Golden Globe for directing "Hustle."
    Missing from the list are Spike Jonze for "Her"; Joel and Ethan Coen for "Inside Llewyn Davis"; and Alexander Payne for "Nebraska."
    The DGA and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have disagreed seven times on top director choices, including last year when the DGA selected Ben Affleck for best director for "Argo" and the academy, which didn't even nominate Affleck in the director category, chose Ang Lee for "Life of Pi."
    The winner will be announced at the 66th awards dinner on Jan.  25 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

    No comments: