Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Television Critics Award Nominations

‘Good Wife,’ ‘Breaking Bad,’ ‘Game of Thrones,’ ‘True Detective’ Lead TCA Award Nominees

'The Good Wife' Caps Very Good
“The Good Wife,” “Breaking Bad,” “Game of Thrones” and “True Detective” are among the series landing multiple nominations in this year’s Television Critics Assn. Awards derby.

Netflix’s “Orange is the New Black” joins that trio in the org’s program of the year category, which didn’t leave room for any half-hour comedies. “Breaking Bad” won the category last year.
CBS’ “Good Wife” (pictured), HBO’s “Thrones” and AMC’s “Breaking Bad” also are nommed in the drama series category, along with FX’s “The Americans” and Netflix’s “House of Cards.” “Thrones” won last year. “True Detective” landed a slot in the movies/miniseries category rather than in drama series, along with FX’s “American Horror Story: Coven,” BBC America’s “Broadchurch,” FX’s “Fargo” and SundanceTV’s “The Returned,” the subtitled French series.

The contenders for comedy series are CBS’ “The Big Bang Theory,” which won last year in a tie with “Parks and Recreation,” Fox’s “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” and “The Mindy Project,” FX’s “Louie” and HBO’s “Veep.”

“Brooklyn” also landed a nom for new program, along with FX’s “Fargo,” “Orange Is the New Black,” Fox’s “Sleepy Hollow” and “True Detective.”

“The Americans” Matthew Rhys received a second straight nomination for individual achievement in drama. He’s in a tough co-ed heat with Bryan Cranston of “Breaking Bad,” Julianna Margulies of “Good Wife,” Tatiana Maslany of BBC America’s “Orphan Black” (last year’s champ) and “True Detective’s” Matthew McConaughey. Noticeably absent was Jeff Daniels of HBO’s “The Newsroom,” who won the lead drama actor Emmy last year, and Claire Danes of Showtime’s “Homeland,” who took the Emmy for lead drama actress.

The comedy achievement list is comprised of usual suspects: last year’s winner Louis C.K. for “Louie,” Mindy Kaling for “Mindy Project,” Julia Louis-Dreyfus for “Veep,” Jim Parsons for “The Big Bang Theory” and Amy Poehler for “Parks and Recreation.” Parsons and Louis-Dreyfus are the reigning Emmy comedy actor winners.

Among networks, CBS leads with nine total noms, followed by HBO (eight), FX (seven) and Fox (six).

TCA’s career achievement award contenders are a typically eclectic lot, with the surprise inclusion of Jay Leno, who was mostly hammered by critics during his long run on “The Tonight Show.” Leno’s competition ranges from producer Mark Burnett to director James Burrows to actress Valerie Harper to the TV icon that is William Shatner. Burnett also has two noms in the reality series category, for NBC’s “The Voice” and ABC’s “Shark Tank.”

The Heritage Award nominees for programs that have had a lasting impact on the smallscreen are ABC’s “Lost” and “Twin Peaks,” NBC’s “Saturday Night Live” and the original “Star Trek” and Comedy Central’s “South Park.”

Here is a complete list of TCA Award nominees:

Individual Achievement in Comedy
Louis C.K., “Louie” (FX) [2013 winner in category]
Mindy Kaling, “The Mindy Project” (Fox)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep” (HBO)
Jim Parsons, “The Big Bang Theory” (CBS)
Amy Poehler, “Parks and Recreation” (NBC)

Individual Achievement in Drama
Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad” (AMC)
Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife” (CBS)
Tatiana Maslany, “Orphan Black” (BBC America) [2013 winner in category]
Matthew McConaughey, “True Detective” (HBO)
Matthew Rhys, “The Americans” (FX)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information
“CBS Sunday Morning” (CBS)
“Cosmos” (Fox)
“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” (Comedy Central)
“Frontline” (PBS)
“60 Minutes” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming
“The Amazing Race” (CBS)
“RuPaul’s Drag Race” (Logo)
“Shark Tank” (ABC) [2013 winner in category]
“Survivor” (CBS)
“The Voice” (NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming
“Adventure Time” (Cartoon Network)
“Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood” (PBS)
“The Fosters” (ABC Family)
“Sesame Street” (PBS)
“Switched at Birth” (ABC Family)

Outstanding New Program
“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” (Fox)
“Fargo” (FX)
“Orange Is the New Black” (Netflix)
“Sleepy Hollow” (Fox)
“True Detective” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials
“American Horror Story: Coven” (FX)
“Broadchurch” (BBC America)
“Fargo” (FX)
“The Returned” (SundanceTV)
“True Detective” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama
“The Americans” (FX)
“Breaking Bad” (AMC)
“Game of Thrones” (HBO) [2013 winner in category]
“House of Cards” (Netflix)
“The Good Wife” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy
“The Big Bang Theory” (CBS) [2013 winner in category – tied with “Parks and Recreation”]
“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” (Fox)
“Louie” (FX)
“The Mindy Project” (Fox)
“Veep” (HBO)

Career Achievement Award
Mark Burnett
James Burrows
Valerie Harper
Jay Leno
William Shatner

Heritage Award
“Lost” (ABC)
“Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
“South Park” (Comedy Central)
“Star Trek” (NBC)
“Twin Peaks” (ABC)

Program of the Year
“Breaking Bad” (AMC) [2013 winner in category]
“Game of Thrones” (HBO)
“The Good Wife” (CBS)
“Orange Is the New Black” (Netflix)
“True Detective” (HBO)

No comments: